The Big Boulder: What Is Keeping You From Moving Forward?

The heat, warmth and sunshine of summer encourages you to not only lighten up on what you eat and wear but also to lighten up your attitude and your space at home or at work. 

Recently, I finally parted with the Dell computer that I had owned since starting my business 11 years ago. At a time when size mattered, the computer had a big 15″ monitor that took up half of the space on my desk. As we were moving it and its accompanying tower, my eye caught the smartphone resting in its case on my partner’s waist. All of what we were moving had been replaced with this small item – so much progress in just a little over a decade. When I returned to my office after the move, my desk looked empty and my office seemed huge. I started to recognize many of the opportunities this space could offer my business that the large and looming presence of the monitor had kept me from seeing clearly. The monitor was like a big boulder in the road that was keeping me from moving forward in my business.

Energized and inspired by the spaciousness in my office, I decided it was time to tackle a new project: reorganizing my closets. I am a short person who has high racks in every closet except a large front hall closet. After I moved my frequently worn casual and business clothing to this closet, I realized how must stress and strain I had put on my mind and body trying to reach for unreachable clothes every day. My closet has also yielded many possibilities and discouraged me from purchasing anything new. I discovered that my closet situation was like a big boulder in the road that was keeping me from moving forward in my life.

When I used to work for a large organization, I used to keep a pile of papers to review and file on the corner of my desk at the entrance to my office cubicle. The pile kept growing and growing. It was not until I decided to leave the organization that I finally dealt with that pile of papers. I realized that it was both a barrier to keep people out of my office and to keep me from seeing that it was time for a career change. My pile of papers was like a big boulder in the road that was keeping me from moving forward in my career.

What is the big boulder in the road that is keeping you from moving forward in your life, career or business? Summer is a great time to finally move that big boulder out of your way.

About The Motivator Minute

The Motivator Minute is written by "The Motivator" who for the past 17 years has been a motivational and leadership coach for business, life and career. She offers her international clientele a creative approach to coaching, training and promoting. Her greatest strength is that she gives her clients her energy, enthusiasm, knowledge, experience, a commitment to their success and an abundance of creative ideas. She is a coach, leader, facilitator and motivational speaker who supports, encourages and motivates individuals to make positive and lasting changes in their personal and professional lives. She specializes in working with entrepreneurs who want to achieve greater success through increased business and personal visibility and credibility; with individuals who are experiencing career and life transitions and with an organization’s leaders so that they can do and be their best on the job and in their lives. Please note that all material on this blog is original and copyright protected. Copyright 2011 The Motivator All rights reserved.
This entry was posted in Change Your Life - Views and Values, Grow Your Business - Ideas and Insights, Manage Your Career - Tips and Tools and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

