Share Your Story – Educate, Motivate and Make a Difference

A chance encounter with a friend and the story that she shared with me made me realize how stories can educate, motivate and make a difference. It’s Monday and the beginning of the last week of summer. I had planned to write about a completely different topic today. Something light and breezy about making the most of the last week of summer by getting outside and doing one fun thing each day. I will write about that tomorrow. Today’s post is dedicated to the courage, strength, resilience and commitment of my friend.

It had been many months since I had seen her and I happened to stop and talk to her in front of our neighbourhood coffee shop which has been the scene of so many important moments in my life over the past five years. I have met individuals who have become clients. I have met many interesting people who have shared their stores and changed my life. However, the most important moment was the day a little over three years ago when the love of my life walked into the coffee shop and into my life and changed it forever. We have been blessed to spend every day of the last three happy and healthy years together.

As we stood in the sunshine outside of our favourite coffee shop and she eagerly anticipated that first luxurious coffee of the day, she began to recount what had happened in her life over the past 10 months since I had seen her. It seemed as if time stopped. The urgent need for coffee was delayed as the words came pouring out of her and I listened silently and intently. Part of me kept wishing that I had a pen and paper so I could write down every single word and yet another part of me knew that would have proved to be a distraction as each word was a gift. As she continued to speak, my mind filled with admiration for her authenticity and my heart with gratitude for her generosity.

When she finished sharing her story, I gave her a hug, thanked her and told her that I would pray for her. I decided to write about her today. In sharing her story, she educated and motivated me and made a difference in my life. 

I believe that each of us has a story to share. Share your story so that you can educate, motivate and make a difference in someone’s life as my friend did for me today.

About The Motivator Minute

The Motivator Minute is written by "The Motivator" who for the past 17 years has been a motivational and leadership coach for business, life and career. She offers her international clientele a creative approach to coaching, training and promoting. Her greatest strength is that she gives her clients her energy, enthusiasm, knowledge, experience, a commitment to their success and an abundance of creative ideas. She is a coach, leader, facilitator and motivational speaker who supports, encourages and motivates individuals to make positive and lasting changes in their personal and professional lives. She specializes in working with entrepreneurs who want to achieve greater success through increased business and personal visibility and credibility; with individuals who are experiencing career and life transitions and with an organization’s leaders so that they can do and be their best on the job and in their lives. Please note that all material on this blog is original and copyright protected. Copyright 2011 The Motivator All rights reserved.
This entry was posted in Change Your Life - Views and Values and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

