Why It Pays To Keep A Receipt And File It In A Safe Place

A receipt is a valuable piece of paper. It is a proof of purchase that you need to return an item for a store credit or a cash or credit refund. I learned recently that it is not something to be carelessly thrown away, left behind, stuffed in a shoebox or tossed in a pile to gather dust. Here is a story of why it pays to keep a receipt and file it carefully in a safe place in your wallet, in a file on your phone or in a special envelope reserved for receipts in your bag or purse.

If you live in Canada and are responsible for doing the food shopping for yourself, your family or your friends, you know that buying food to stock your pantry each week now involves a well thought out strategy: listing the items required, researching the best prices and planning the most efficient way to spend your money and visit the required stores in the least amount of time. These days, being a price expert and bargain hunter has become fashionable especially when it comes to sourcing the best quality fresh fruits and vegetables at the lowest prices. Accessing websites such as www.save.ca to scan grocery flyers is a must on Thursdays and Fridays. To get the best deals on meat and produce, a visit to at least two different supermarkets is mandatory.

I have to admit that while I have been frequenting two competitive stores to do my weekly shopping and often storing the first store’s full bag of groceries in my shopping cart as I go through the checkout line for the second store, the staff at the second store has never asked me where I bought any of the items in my bag even though the groceries were in plain sight.

On Friday, January 29, Loblaws had a one-day sale on Christie Triscuit crackers at the excellent price of $1.00 a box. Needless to say, the store that I visited at Queen’s Quay seemed to have displays of Triscuit crackers at the start and end of every aisle and by the checkout lines. By the time I arrived at noon, many customers had already taken advantage of this amazing deal. After some consideration, I purchased two boxes, put them in my shopping bag and proceeded to the second store, the best and cleanest No Frills in Toronto on Front Street just west of Parliament Street. I purchased my items, packed them in my second shopping bag and put both bags in my cart. As I was returning my cart, I was startled by a voice behind me. I turned to see a man standing there who politely asked me if I had paid for the two boxes of crackers in my shopping bag. Since one of my New Year’s resolutions has been to not only write down all of the money that I spend daily but also file my receipts in an envelope that I carry in my purse, I was able to quickly and easily access the receipt for the crackers which proved that I had purchased them at another store.

I am sure that there have been times when you have been in a hurry and lost, forgotten or tossed away your receipt. Guard your receipts as well as you do your cash, cards and phone. It pays to have proof of your purchases especially now when grocery shopping demands visits to multiple stores to get the best value for your dollar.

About The Motivator Minute

The Motivator Minute is written by "The Motivator" who for the past 17 years has been a motivational and leadership coach for business, life and career. She offers her international clientele a creative approach to coaching, training and promoting. Her greatest strength is that she gives her clients her energy, enthusiasm, knowledge, experience, a commitment to their success and an abundance of creative ideas. She is a coach, leader, facilitator and motivational speaker who supports, encourages and motivates individuals to make positive and lasting changes in their personal and professional lives. She specializes in working with entrepreneurs who want to achieve greater success through increased business and personal visibility and credibility; with individuals who are experiencing career and life transitions and with an organization’s leaders so that they can do and be their best on the job and in their lives. Please note that all material on this blog is original and copyright protected. Copyright 2011 The Motivator All rights reserved.
This entry was posted in Change Your Life - Views and Values and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

